Little Bird is Complete

The set isn’t complete, but the sweater and hat are both complete and I just had to show you. I am in the process of designing a cute little pair of newborn booties to go with the outfit, so will show those and the mittens next week.

27feb09_littlebird

How do you like the doll I am using as my Sweet Pea model? I think she is quite cute, and she is very willing to pose for shots.

Another item complete this week is the pattern for Sweet Pea’s Blanket and the matching Soft Block. I just released the pattern yesterday as a download or as a printed version. This blanket is so pretty, and actually would work for an adult throw or afghan (sized differently of course). The pattern is available three places: 1) on my website, 2) in my Etsy store, and 3) in my store on Ravelry.com.

What I love about it also is that, if you use 100% worsted weight cotton yarn you can make the baby blanket for less than $20, or an adult sized afghan for $30 (excluding the knitting needles). The stitch pattern on this blanket, along with a nice wide seed stitch border looks wonderful in cotton yarn. Worked up on Size U.S. 10 needles it is a quick knit, inexpensive and yet beautiful to behold.

One more point, the stitch pattern might look complicated but is actually very easy to knit so even a fairly new knitter would be able to make this very special piece. (I included instructions in the pattern to size it as an afghan in addition to the baby blanket instructions.) Excuse my enthusiasm, but I got very excited when I was publishing the pattern and realized how affordable this project could be as an elegant afghan and so doable.

27feb09_rabbit_kb

Sweet Pea, the actual baby, is going to be here so soon. She might come as early as a week from Monday and of course we are not as ready as we would like to be. My daughter and her husband are working together to get everything ready that they can, within the limitations of how she is feeling. It is fun to see and hear them, to observe them building this part of their lives together.

What is also fun is that my daughter watched me needle felting, and then she took it up. Then, her husband was watching her needle felting and then he took it up. He’s a dude, but he’s needle felting … how cool is that?

So far he has made a Easter egg that looks like Planet Earth and he has made a glass of Guinness Extra Stout complete with a clover in the head just like they serve it at our favorite Irish pub in one of the nearby villages. The “glass” even has a green Irish harp on it.

I have started including some of their needle felted items in the Firefly’s Studio Etsy store to help them raise money for some of the things they need for the baby. Mostly I just think it is so cute that they sit together needle felting some evenings. Look at all the recent items the three of us have created … and there have been more. All of these items are currently up for sale at the Etsy store if you have a hankering for something cute and furry today. :)

27feb09_feltings_kb

Well, I have to run now because somehow or other I have to get more knitting done and also get some new paintings going … oh, and I have to get the house ready for the baby, make some special goodies to take to the hospital for after the delivery, take care of some business for some clients, and — oh well, you get the picture. It’s a good thing I drank too much coffee this morning.

Have a great weekend,
~firefly

6 Responses to “Little Bird is Complete”

  1. I love the sweater and hat! They are adorable. I can tell that Sweetpea will be very loved and very lucky!

    Happy Knitting!
    Alli

  2. Just gorgeous!!!!!!!! I love it!

  3. What a beautiful model and darling outfit too. Sweetpea is very fortunate to have you as a Mom-mom/Grandma etc. Love the felties too. They are so cute!! Isn’t it wonderful that now needle felting really is a ‘family affair’!? What great new family traditions you are creating. :)

  4. What a lovely set, I love the colour.

  5. What a gorgeous outfit. The doll looks so lifelike too. Congrats on your new baby granddaughter.

  6. The mauve jacket is simply adorable! I am an avid knitter and the last few years have mostly knit baby jackets, bootees, bonnets and shawls. With the arrival of my first grandbaby I now have a personal focus for my projects. There are so many awesome, very tempting patterns available now days, this one is lovely too. I have built up a large collection of patterns and particularly like creating garments in 4ply merino.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

